Sometimes

The fever comes.

The baser nature takes control, the Id, the Ur-Man, the animal.

I can’t explain it.

I am a thinking, rational, enlightened example of the human experience. I am beyond this. Yet there it is.

There I am.

The world spins on its axis and I am suddenly, acutely aware.

There you are.

And I work, work for it, punishing, longing, developing slowly and with dexterity.

And we suffer a little.

Because we all suffer a little for what we want.

And what I want is you.

 

There is no reason. Reason has no part in our algebra.

About ernestwhile

I live in New York City. I built a world of Lego bricks, colorful and simple and foreign. I've been picking it apart ever since.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes

  1. Marian Green says:

    I understand this. I feel this.

Leave a Reply

