I’ve Decide For Whom I’m Voting

On Election Day, I’ll be working from 5:30am to 10:30pm. Accordingly, I’ve had to review my sample ballot and cast my vote early, by mail.

I am a Decline to State voter because I don’t believe in political parties. They encourage lazy voting by offering a platter of candidates, and I would rather learn about individuals. It is true, however, that over the last twelve years or so I have usually voted for the Democrats running for national office. This is almost entirely because of the hard right turn the Republican party has taken since around 1996.

So, yes, I voted for Barack Obama. Here’s a ranked list of my top ten reasons, and of course, I hope enough of these resonate with you that you’ll agree and back the president.

 

1. President Obama has pursued a balanced foreign policy, generally helping to reduce the quantity of death, dismemberment, and destruction worldwide. Though that Nobel Peace Prize was a little ridiculous, America is not hated as much as we were five years ago.

2. Given the obstructionist House of Representatives, and I include the Blue Dog Democrats of 2009-2010 in that group, the president’s domestic agenda has been reasonably successful.

3. Specifically, the economy is doing far better than I expected. The president mostly can only guide policy; action has to be taken by Congress, and only the House can spend money.

4. Regardless of who the president has been the last four years, the opposition party has seriously acted like a bag of dicks. Mitch McConnell, the Senate minority leader who described the single most important goal of Congress as “making Obama a one-term president” is an even worse pustule that John Boehner, and that’s saying something. When the opposition actively obstructs basic governance, they increase my likelihood of voting against them, just on principle.

5. Mitt Romney the Moderate is someone I could conceivably have voted for, just like John McCain version Y2K. Unfortunately, there is just too much evidence from his own mouth that he’s closer to McCain version 2008. Add to this Paul Ryan on the ticket and the lack of specificity in their plans, and I just don’t trust it.

6. Paul Ryan gets a reason of his own. If the most dreadful thing were to occur, I’d rather have Handsome Joe Biden in charge than Hey Girl Paul Ryan. Seriously, dude is almost scarier than Palin.

7. On the national level, I generally agree more with the philosophy of tempered government involvement and stimulus in citizen’s lives. I’m a fan of the National Endowments for the Arts, Sciences, and Humanities. I loves me some NASA. There are some things only government is big enough to do, mostly because government doesn’t need a profit motive. Oh, and the New Deal was a good idea. I believe everyone who keeps trying should get a helping hand when they need it.

The Republicans have been slipping more and more toward permanent Ayn Randiness. Look, I read the books and went through my selfish phase, too. I got over it by about age 22. Sure I get mad at the bums constantly harassing hard-working people, and lazy coworkers who strategize that they can make better money on unemployment. I know that people take advantage, and that a certain percentage of my taxes are funding slacking free-loading buttmunches.

Ultimately, though, I know there is no system that operates at 100% efficiency, and that a certain percentage of my taxes also go toward new nuclear submarines, which I think we could do without.

8. I’m not down with Republican hypocrisy on government intervention in social issues. I’m more of a Libertarian when it comes to this stuff, and I don’t understand how the Republicans can be so “get your government out of my healthcare” and then turn around and start bitchin’ ‘bout ‘bortion. Gay marriage, too, WTF? If you want to preserve the institution of marriage, try outlawing divorce and adultery and see how far you get. Leave other people alone.

These big social issues move so slowly on the national level that I can’t really consider something like a pro-life stance an absolute dealbreaker. On the state and local level, it carries more weight for me, but for presidential candidates it’s like dating a woman with an artificial leg.

9. My personal situation has improved with Barack Obama as president, and is more likely to improve if he stays in office. No one should ever feel ashamed about voting for the candidate who will literally help them out. I feel no resentment against Millionaires for Mitt, and if you’re a rich person he is definitely your guy.

After doing fairly well for myself in the Clinton years, I got hammered in the Lost Decade. Since 2008, I’ve got more work than I can handle, made more money than ever, and paid completely reasonable tax rates. My home value, which peaked in 2006, has hit bottom and is starting to rebound. Other than my mortgage, I have no debt. I am optimistic about my prospects, and crucially, if I do end up switching careers… I trust Barack Obama to realize the value of foreign aid and diplomacy more than Mitt Romney. That means funding for my chosen new profession.

10. Supreme Court nom nom noms. Looking at the court as it exists today, I’m a big fan of the women on the court and most of the time Breyer. They’re thoughtful, reasoned, and pretty much in line with what I believe. Kind of like national parents. They were nominated by Democrats.

On the other hand, can you imagine having a father like Justice Thomas, who hasn’t said a word in court in something like six years? Or frickin’ Scalia? Everyone on your block would be afraid of you, but they’d also figure Noxious Dick is in your DNA. Thomas and Scalia were put in place by Republicans.

Roberts is borderline, as is Alito. Meh. On balance, I trust Democrats’ nominees more.

So don’t forget to vote on November 6, people. And I’d love to hear your thoughts.

About ernestwhile

I live in New York City. I built a world of Lego bricks, colorful and simple and foreign. I've been picking it apart ever since.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ve Decide For Whom I’m Voting

  1. Hyacinth says:

    Reblogged this on A Dissolute Life Means… and commented:
    Early voting starts today (10/22) and ends November 2nd.

    I reblogged this because of its calm, personal feel and educational value.

    No name-calling or finger-pointing.

    I’ll write about sex again soon. Like how I woke up a sleeping man with my warm, wet pussy and how I crossed and uncrossed my legs Sharon Stone-style for him at a party.

    But for now, just this plea to everyone to get out at vote early!!

    xx
    Hy

  2. jayne ayres says:

    I have grown up watching the Presidential Races become bogged down in a sticky layer of slick marketing and spinning – aka NOT THE DIRECT TRUTH – and now, all of the dust, dirt and degradation has made it almost impossible to know a candidate’s heart. I DO love that New Jersey Governor though. I would have voted for him if he ran. He’s direct and he’s not afraid to say exactly how and what he thinks.
    I agree with practically all of your perspective – the parts I’m familiar with.
    I am disheartened by the government officials who oppose instead of compromise to get things done.
    I am disheartened by the accepted practice of officials adding on a bunch of crap to a bill, law etc. that is getting passed.
    Ultimately, I am disheartened by the fact that no one seems to be able to go after fraud in every single department of the government. Instead choosing some other new committee to investigate or by passing some other law or bill or whatever the hell is easier than cleaning house the old fashioned way. I chose to become a Libertarian many years ago. I wanted OUT of both parties and into a third one hoping that competition would weed out lazy habits. It hasn’t happened yet, but I am hopeful of change.
    As far as voting, I honestly feel that whenever a President is elected, he is constantly hit with the results of the Previous President’s deeds and results. It takes a strong, charismatic leader who has has a high IQ in negotiating along with a team of skillful, seasoned people to accomplish great things. It’s exactly like Armageddon when the meteor was heading to earth and Nasa needed to compile a drilling team to implant the nuclear bomb deep enough for the explosion to split it and thus, miss earth completely… right?
    I had to go off on that tangent because thats how I feel sometimes – ridiculous when trying to be reasonable or logical about politics.

    I believe that we’re far enough away to forget how recent generations of women spent their lives working to give women some solid footing in society and the Supreme Court can be the last stop for critical changes. I feel foolish admitting this but not as foolish as if I only saw the Presidential impact in a four year block of time. THAT is a comment on my own lack of perseverance to dissect every government position and calculate the balance of power or lack thereof and vote accordingly.
    I am going to choose my candidate on the likliehood of 3 or 4 Supreme Court Nominations. Even though I know that ANY candidate left, center or right can appoint someone I wouldn’t like, and even though I have absolutely no real power in that decision. I think I would prefer Barack’s choice to Mitt’s. It’s a throw of the dice and I completely understand that I could be wrong. ( I attended a Mormon church for awhile when my cousin was in love with Donny Osmond ( what?!) and I thought it was so loving – honestly. I was a 3rd grader.)

    I did like the second debate and I did my best as usual to not watch any coverage.it Give me the men and shut everyone else up. Really? The talk about how they “turned off” women voters?!! Seriously??! Just give me a damn LEADER with some common sense and strength of character to kick some ass when needed.

  3. ernestwhile says:

    Thanks Jayne! And it’s a great point you bring up about presidential impact going beyond their initial 4 years. Just as an example, watching the debate last night, I heard Mr. Romney again claim that his administration will create 12 million new jobs over the next four years. It’s a great sound bite, but when you break it down and look at the current projections, it turns out that regardless who wins, the economy is going to add about 12 million new jobs.

    Similarly, if you look at a chart of unemployment and/or economic activity, you’ll noticed we bottomed out roughly when Obama took office. The president could claim that all of the recovery is on his watch, and therefore he should get all the credit, but for the most part he stays away from explicitly saying that. Why? Because he knows that TARP and the auto bailout and many of the other fixes got started under President Bush.

    The President steering the economy is like Leonardo DiCaprio trying to steer the Titanic. First you have to get people who don’t respect you to listen, and then you have to make the right decision, and then you have to wait for the ship to react.

    (Incidentally, the right decision for the Titanic would have been to steer directly into the iceberg. There would have been pretty massive front-end damage, but the compartmented hull would have held up and the ship would probably not have sunk.True story.)

Leave a Reply

